Action/Adventure

Between Shades of Gray: An Authentic & Tragic Historical Fiction Novel

4/5 Stars Author: Ruta Sepetys Publisher/Imprint: Penguin Audio Edition: Audiobook, 7 hrs 46 min Publication Date: March 22, 2011 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well! Book Synopsis It's 1941 and fifteen-year-old artist Lina Vilkas is on Stalin's extermination list. Deported to a prison camp in Siberia, Lina fights for her life, fearless, risking everything to… Continue reading Between Shades of Gray: An Authentic & Tragic Historical Fiction Novel

Fantasy

The Puppetmaster’s Apprentice: A Fun Pinocchio Retelling!

4.5/5 Stars Author: Lisa DeSelm Publisher/Imprint: Page Street Kids Edition: Paperback ARC, 332 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: October 13, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well!   *I won an ARC of this book in a giveaway from the publisher. All quotes used in this review come from the uncorrected proof. These are my honest… Continue reading The Puppetmaster’s Apprentice: A Fun Pinocchio Retelling!

Fantasy

A Golden Fury: Beware the Alchemist’s Curse!

4/5 Stars Author: Samantha Cohoe Publisher/Imprint: Wednesday Books Edition: Paperback ARC, 341 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: October 13, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well!   *I received a free copy of this book from the publisher. All quotes used in this review come from the uncorrected proof. These are my honest opinions. Thank you.*… Continue reading A Golden Fury: Beware the Alchemist’s Curse!

Fantasy

Sea Witch: A Retelling That Could’ve Offered More

3.5/5 Stars Author: Sarah Henning Publisher/Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books Edition: Audiobook, 8 hrs 25 min Publication Date: July 31, 2018 A Spine that Shines? Partially   Book Synopsis Wicked meets The Little Mermaid in the captivating origin story of the sea's most iconic villainess, perfect for fans of Heartless and Dorothy Must Die.Ever since her… Continue reading Sea Witch: A Retelling That Could’ve Offered More

Action/Adventure

Teen Titans Beast Boy: An Engaging Origin Story

4/5 Stars Author: Kami Garcia Illustrator: Gabriel Picolo Publisher/Imprint: DC Comics Edition: Paperback, 192 Pages Publication Date: September 01, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well!   *I received a free copy of this book from DC Comics for review purposes. These are my honest opinions. Thank you.* Book Synopsis Author Kami Garcia (Beautiful Creatures)… Continue reading Teen Titans Beast Boy: An Engaging Origin Story

Fantasy

Blog Tour Excerpt & First Impression: Where Dreams Descend

Book Synopsis In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus, only to find themselves under the threat of an unseen danger striking behind the scenes. As each act becomes more and more risky… Continue reading Blog Tour Excerpt & First Impression: Where Dreams Descend

Fantasy

Unravel the Dusk: A Satisfying Conclusion to an Enchanting Duology!

4/5 Stars Author: Elizabeth Lim Publisher/Imprint: Knopf Edition: Paperback ARC, 354 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: July 07, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well! *I received a free ARC of this book from the publisher. All quotes used in this review come from the uncorrected proof. These are my honest opinions. Thank you.* Book Synopsis… Continue reading Unravel the Dusk: A Satisfying Conclusion to an Enchanting Duology!

Fantasy

Seasons of the Storm: Not the Icy Blast of Fun I’d Hoped For

3/5 Stars Author: Elle Cosimano Publisher/Imprint: HarperTeen Edition: Paperback ARC, 469 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: June 23, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Partially   *I received a free ARC of this book from the author. Thank you also to EpicReads for sending me a free copy of the finished hardcover. These are my honest opinions.… Continue reading Seasons of the Storm: Not the Icy Blast of Fun I’d Hoped For

Action/Adventure

Wonder Woman Tempest Tossed: Teenage Activism & Social Justice

3/5 Stars Author: Laurie Halse Anderson Illustrator: Leila del Duca Publisher/Imprint: DC Comics Edition: Paperback, 208 Pages Publication Date: June 02, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Partially   *I received a free copy of this book from DC Comics for review purposes. These are my honest opinions. Thank you.* Book Synopsis New York Times bestselling… Continue reading Wonder Woman Tempest Tossed: Teenage Activism & Social Justice

Action/Adventure

Aurora Burning: What an Ending! It Burns!

4/5 Stars Authors: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff Publisher/Imprint: Knopf Books for Young Readers Edition: Paperback ARC, 495 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: May 05, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Fairly Well!   *I received a free ARC of this book from the publisher. All quotes used in this review come from the uncorrected proof. These… Continue reading Aurora Burning: What an Ending! It Burns!