Fantasy

Sing Me Forgotten: An Enchanting ‘Phantom of the Opera’ Retelling

*I received a free ARC of this book from the publisher. All quotes used in this review come from the uncorrected proof. These are my personal, honest opinions. Thank you.* 4/5 Stars Author: Jessica S. Olson Publisher/Imprint: Inkyard Press Edition: Paperback ARC, 325 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: March 09, 2021 A Spine that Shines? Quite… Continue reading Sing Me Forgotten: An Enchanting ‘Phantom of the Opera’ Retelling

Mystery/Thriller

The Project: Sadly Disappointing

*I received a free ARC of this book from the publisher. All quotes used in this review come from the uncorrected proof. These are my personal, honest opinions. Thank you.* 2.5/5 Stars Author: Courtney Summers Publisher/Imprint: Wednesday Books Edition: Paperback ARC, 346 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: February 02, 2021 A Spine that Shines? Meh  … Continue reading The Project: Sadly Disappointing

Fantasy

Crown of Bones: Action-Packed, Unique World-Building, Compelling Characters, Fascinating Magic, & a Dash of Romance!

*I received a free ARC of this book from the publisher. All quotes used in this review come from the uncorrected proof. These are my honest opinions. Thank you.* 5/5 Stars Author: A. K. Wilder Publisher/Imprint: Entangled Teen Edition: Paperback ARC, 404 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: January 05, 2021 A Spine that Shines? Most Definitely!… Continue reading Crown of Bones: Action-Packed, Unique World-Building, Compelling Characters, Fascinating Magic, & a Dash of Romance!

Action/Adventure

House of El: The Shadow Threat

*I received a free copy of this book from DC Comics for review purposes. These are my honest opinions. Thank you.* 4/5 Stars Author: Claudia Gray Illustrator: Eric Zawadzki Publisher/Imprint: DC Comics Edition: Paperback, 208 Pages Publication Date: January 05, 2021 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well!   Book Synopsis Zahn is one of Krypton's… Continue reading House of El: The Shadow Threat

Fantasy

Sorcery of Thorns: Magical Grimoires & Spunky Librarians!

4/5 Stars Author: Margaret Rogerson Publisher/Imprint: Simon & Schuster Audio Publication Date: June 04, 2019 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well!   Book Synopsis All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the… Continue reading Sorcery of Thorns: Magical Grimoires & Spunky Librarians!

Contemporary

Now That I’ve Found You: A Cute YA Contemporary With POC Main Characters

*I won a free copy of this book from BookishFirst. These are my honest opinions. Thank you.* 3.5/5 Stars Author: Kristina Forest Publisher/Imprint: Roaring Brook Press Publication Date: August 25, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Partially   Book Synopsis Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about searching for answers, love, and your… Continue reading Now That I’ve Found You: A Cute YA Contemporary With POC Main Characters

Historical Fiction

Between Shades of Gray: An Authentic & Tragic Historical Fiction Novel

4/5 Stars Author: Ruta Sepetys Publisher/Imprint: Penguin Audio Edition: Audiobook, 7 hrs 46 min Publication Date: March 22, 2011 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well! Book Synopsis It's 1941 and fifteen-year-old artist Lina Vilkas is on Stalin's extermination list. Deported to a prison camp in Siberia, Lina fights for her life, fearless, risking everything to… Continue reading Between Shades of Gray: An Authentic & Tragic Historical Fiction Novel

Fantasy

The Puppetmaster’s Apprentice: A Fun Pinocchio Retelling!

4.5/5 Stars Author: Lisa DeSelm Publisher/Imprint: Page Street Kids Edition: Paperback ARC, 332 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: October 13, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well!   *I won an ARC of this book in a giveaway from the publisher. All quotes used in this review come from the uncorrected proof. These are my honest… Continue reading The Puppetmaster’s Apprentice: A Fun Pinocchio Retelling!

Fantasy

A Golden Fury: Beware the Alchemist’s Curse!

4/5 Stars Author: Samantha Cohoe Publisher/Imprint: Wednesday Books Edition: Paperback ARC, 341 Pages Hardcover Publication Date: October 13, 2020 A Spine that Shines? Quite Well!   *I received a free copy of this book from the publisher. All quotes used in this review come from the uncorrected proof. These are my honest opinions. Thank you.*… Continue reading A Golden Fury: Beware the Alchemist’s Curse!

Fantasy

Sea Witch: A Retelling That Could’ve Offered More

3.5/5 Stars Author: Sarah Henning Publisher/Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books Edition: Audiobook, 8 hrs 25 min Publication Date: July 31, 2018 A Spine that Shines? Partially   Book Synopsis Wicked meets The Little Mermaid in the captivating origin story of the sea's most iconic villainess, perfect for fans of Heartless and Dorothy Must Die.Ever since her… Continue reading Sea Witch: A Retelling That Could’ve Offered More